Conquest of Canada

In the spring of 2019, Keven Martel will try to do what nobody has ever dared to try before, which is to cross Canada (the 2nd largest country in the world) from the most easterly point to the most westerly point geographically.

To do this, he will have to travel approximately 10 000km, which will lead him to the driest corners of Canada, where only a few have stood, and whose remote location would be difficult to reach in emergency situations, to the point where it could make a clear difference between life and death.

Keven will cross 6 provinces and 2 territories through which he will discover several types of vegetation: he will walk in the Boreal Forest, the Subarctic Forest, and the tundra.  From wolf to grizzly bear, via the brown bear, Keven will have to be careful and gather all his knowledge to confront these numerous predators that he will face along the way.

His criteria are very precise: the route has to be made without motorized transportation, completed alone, and done by never setting foot further south than the 50th parallel, except in Newfoundland, because his starting point is located further south.  Once the 50th parallel is reached, it will be forbidden to go below it.

This adventure will start at Cape Spear, in Newfoundland (47 ° 31 ‘ 25 North, 52 ° 37 ‘ 10 West).  It is the most easterly point of Canada and of North America.  It is on the Avalon peninsula, 11 kilometers from the city of Saint John’s; it is closer to Paris (situated at approximately 4 000 km) than Vancouver (situated at approximately 5 020 km).

This cross Canada trip will end at the Alaska/Yukon border meets the Arctic Ocean, in Ivvavik National park (Yukon) (69 ° 38 ‘ 47 ” North, 141 ° 00 ‘ 01″ West), approximately 9 km east of Gordon (Alaska).

Why

The silly idea to conquer Canada crossed his mind in 2014, during a kayak expedition in the Fjord of Saguenay.  Keven was asking himself questions regarding his happiness. He was looking for a more challenging profession; therefore, he began the long thought process on what he is really passionate about.  He sketched a global portrait of his strengths and his weaknesses and, a few months later, began the draft of his project.

Being convinced that nature is the best life coach for humans, he wants to unify with it and be enriched by the communities that he will meet.  This project will also allow him to face his fears and to exceed his limits. He wants to demonstrate that in solitude and simplicity, a human being can only find himself to have grown.

Once the adventure is completed, his ultimate desire is to share his life experience by giving conferences, because it has been his dream for a long time now to motivate and help people to forge ahead in life and believe in their potential to reach their goals.  In fact, we often hear Keven saying that “When the body suffers, the spirit flourishes”.  He wants to share this thought with as many people as possible, to make people reflect even further and bring them to question themselves even more on who they are and what they really want in life.

À la conquête du Canada

Au printemps 2019, Keven Martel tentera ce que personne n’a jamais osé réaliser, soit de rallier le Canada (2e pays le plus vaste au monde) du point le plus à l’Est au point le plus à l’Ouest géographiquement.

Pour ce faire, il devra parcourir environ 10 000km, ce qui le mènera dans les coins les plus arides du Canada, là où peu ont posé les pieds et où la difficulté d’accès engendre des délais considérables dans les situations de secours, à un point tel où ils peuvent faire une nette différence entre la vie et la mort.

Keven traversera 6 provinces et 2 territoires au travers desquels il rencontrera plusieurs types de végétation : il marchera dans la forêt boréale, subarctique et la toundra.  Du loup au grizzly, en passant par l’ours brun, Keven devra être prudent et rassembler toutes ses connaissances afin d’affronter ces nombreux prédateurs auxquels il fera face en cours de route.

Ses critères sont bien précis : le trajet doit s’effectuer sans moyen motorisé, en solitaire et en ne mettant jamais les pieds plus au Sud que le 50e parallèle, sauf sur l’Île de Terre-Neuve, puisque son point départ se trouve plus au Sud.  Un coup le 50e parallèle atteint, plus question de redescendre.

Le départ se tiendra au cap d’Espoir, sur l’Île de Terre-Neuve (47° 31′ 25″ Nord, 52° 37′ 10″ Ouest); celui-ci est le point le plus à l’est du Canada et de l’Amérique du Nord. Il se trouve sur la péninsule d’Avalon, à 11 kilomètres du centre-ville de Saint-Jean et il est d’ailleurs plus proche de Paris (située à environ 4 000 km) que de Vancouver (située à environ 5 020 km).

L’arrivée aura lieu au point de jonction de la frontière Alaska/Yukon et de l’Océan Arctique, dans le parc national Ivvavik (Yukon) (69° 38′ 47″Nord, 141° 00′ 01″Ouest), à environ 9 km à l’Est de Gordon (Alaska).

Pourquoi

L’idée de conquérir le Canada a tout bêtement traversé son esprit lorsqu’en 2014, en pleine expédition de kayak dans le Fjord du Saguenay, Keven se questionne sur son bonheur.  N’étant plus heureux dans sa profession, il entame alors un long processus de réflexion sur ce qui le passionne vraiment.  Il brosse le portrait global de ses forces et de ses faiblesses et, quelques mois plus tard, il commencera l’ébauche de son projet.

Étant convaincu que la nature est le meilleur enseignant de la vie pour l’humain, il veut, dans cette conquête, s’harmoniser auprès d’elle et s’enrichir en tant que personne auprès des communautés qu’il rencontrera.  Par le biais de ce projet, il veut  également affronter ses peurs et dépasser ses limites.  Keven veut aussi démontrer que dans la solitude et la simplicité, l’humain ne peut que s’en retrouver grandi.

Par la suite, son désir ultime est de partager son expérience de vie par le biais de conférences, car il caresse depuis longtemps le rêve de motiver et d’aider les gens à foncer dans la vie et à croire en leur potentiel pour atteindre leurs objectifs. C’est un fait, on entend souvent Keven dire ceci : «quand le corps souffre, l’esprit s’épanouit…» et cette réflexion, il veut la partager avec le plus de gens possible pour, par la suite, pousser la réflexion un peu plus loin et amener ces gens à se questionner davantage sur ce qu’ils sont et sur ce qu’ils veulent réellement dans la vie.